All comparisonsDataAnnotation versus Scale AI / Outlier
vs

DataAnnotation vs Outlier: Pay and Access

Facts checked 13 October 2026

DataAnnotation publishes higher pay ceilings but gives you one attempt at its entry assessment and faces a misclassification lawsuit. Outlier publishes no rates, onboards in a fixed sequence, and reviewers flag availability dropping to zero. Both can leave gaps between projects.

Side by side

 DataAnnotationScale AI / Outlier
OperatorRun by Surge AI (Surge Labs, Inc.), per reporting; site says "powered by surge"Operated by Scale AI, per Outlier's site
Published payUp to $150+/hr (software/ML), $125+/hr (finance, legal, medical, STEM), up to $50/hr generalist, up to $40/hr languagesNo rates published; "competitive pay plus quality-based rewards"
Our record$20-60/hr$15-60/hr
PaymentPayPal; deposits within a few days of a withdrawal requestWeekly; method not stated on the page
Entry stepStarter assessment, about 1 hour (general) to 2 hours (specialist), one attempt only; ID check30-90 min general onboarding (account, expertise, skill screenings, ID check), then project-specific onboarding
What you needFluent English, reliable internet; track-specific skillsValid ID and mobile number from your country, a resume and a LinkedIn profile
Countries50+ per the About page; much of the work is US-based on our recordSays "50 countries"; list not published
Our rating / reliability4.1 / Reliable3.6 / Very Reliable
Public reviewsTrustpilot about 3.9 from roughly 1,960 reviews (55% five-star, 20% one-star)See Trustpilot and community forums; no consolidated figure used here
Main risksWeeks with no projects, account suspensions, May 2025 class action (allegations unproven)Task availability can drop to zero; support can be slow

Platforms change rates and rules often. Where a figure comes from a platform's own pages it is that platform's claim, not a guarantee.

Pay: one publishes numbers, the other does not

DataAnnotation lists specific ceilings by field, and they are high for specialists: up to $150+ an hour for software and machine learning, $125+ for most professional fields. Its own FAQ quotes lower figures for general work, so the best reading is that the top rates apply to scarce skills. Outlier's site names no rates at all, which makes any claim about its pay a third-party estimate. Our record lists both in the same broad band, roughly $15 to $60 an hour.

The practical point is that neither number tells you what you will bill in a month. Check DataAnnotation's pay detail and our Outlier platform page for the assumptions behind our figures.

Getting in: one attempt versus a sequence

DataAnnotation puts everything on one assessment, and its FAQ says you cannot retake it. That makes preparation important; we cover it in the starter assessment guide. Outlier uses a longer but more forgiving sequence: general onboarding of about 30 to 90 minutes, then separate onboarding for each project. Expect to supply a resume and a LinkedIn profile for Outlier.

Reliability: both can leave gaps

Neither platform guarantees work. DataAnnotation reviewers describe weeks without projects and account suspensions, and the operator faces a proposed class action alleging misclassification and unpaid assessments (allegations only, no ruling found). Outlier's main complaint on our record is that availability can fall to zero. If steady income matters, keep a second platform active. Our platform rankings show alternatives.

Bottom line

Pick DataAnnotation if you are a specialist who can use its higher published ceilings and you are comfortable with a single-shot assessment. Pick Outlier if you prefer a longer, repeatable onboarding and are willing to work around variable project availability. If you are new to this kind of work, apply to both and see which actually sends you tasks.

Common questions

It depends on your skills. DataAnnotation publishes higher ceilings for specialists. Outlier publishes no rates and uses a longer onboarding. Both can leave gaps between projects.

DataAnnotation's published ceilings are higher for software, ML and professional fields. Outlier does not publish rates, so a like-for-like comparison is not possible from official sources. Our record has both at roughly $15-60 an hour.

DataAnnotation gives one attempt at its starter assessment and reportedly accepts a small share of applicants. Outlier's onboarding takes 30-90 minutes plus project onboarding. Neither is a guaranteed acceptance.

DataAnnotation pays through PayPal. Outlier says it pays weekly but does not state the method on the page we read.

Nothing we found requires exclusivity. Review each contract for project-specific restrictions.

Keep reading

AI Work Expert is an independent publisher. We do not hire or pay anyone, and nothing here is financial or legal advice.